Finally, an Owl Sighting!

DSC_0518A few days ago my brother took some photos of a Great Horned Owl nest high up in a tree on a local golf course. DSC_0536 - CopyNot sure if he remembered, or even knew, that I longed to see an owl (any owl) before my time was up, I knew this might be my big chance. My daily backyard bird watching and photos are no surprise to my family and friends. A pretty substantial amount of DSC_0536 DSC_0514time is spent by me hanging out in our sun room waiting for a new species or an opportunity to capture a good shot of any bird. Now, it seemed like I might have a chance to check off a desire on my modest life bucket list.

A trip to the location where the Owl family resided took place yesterday.

It was an amazing experience for me. About eighty feet up in a tree I could see a very large nest.DSC_0537 DSC_0506From my position on the ground I could see something peeking out of the nest along side a large bird guarding the nest from a nearby branch. Without the help of the camera, or binoculars (which I forgot to bring in the excitement) I really couldn’t see much past the outlines of these creatures. I took over thirty photos and hoped that onceDSC_0519 I was able to see them larger (and out of the sunlight) there would be enough detail to to confirm that I did indeed see an owl!

And so it was. A Great Horned Owl and her two owlets emgerged on my computer screen. It was a good day. Thanks, Ray!


DSC_0507
DSC_0510 DSC_0524

About circuitousjourney

Retired Art Teacher
This entry was posted in Birds, Spring and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Finally, an Owl Sighting!

  1. raypomp says:

    You’re very welcome, Sis–I’m very glad you were able to see them and take such good photographs. The mother is quite something on her guard duty…

  2. Phil Lanoue says:

    Terrific photos of these amazing birds!

  3. Jet Eliot says:

    I am so excited for you, my friend! How very special to see your first owl, and how super extra special to have the extended time to look at the nest and take multiple photos. And then WOW what a fantastic surprise to find the chicks in the photo! Your post and fortune have me smiling as I type…. 😀 😀

  4. babsje says:

    Congrats. And I totally emphasize with your experience of not knowing exactly what you have seen until the photos are downloaded. That happens to me often, sometimes even with my binocs. Fantastic that you have now seen both Owl AND chicks.

Leave a Reply

