Owl Sighting On My Bucket List

Owl Cookie JarSince I have become interested in feeding and watching birds in our yard I have seen many different species.  In the early morning and evening hours the owls vocalize. I know they are out there, yet I have never seen one.  Our property is surrounded on three sides by wooded landscape.  The many trees surely house these nocturnal birds.  Since the  Short Eared Owl and Snowy OwlGlass Owl Ornament  are not nocturnal I thought I might have a better chance of spotting one of them. Snowy Owls were all over the Northeast this year, New York State included, but did I see even one?  The answer would be “no.”

So an owl sighting of any species still remains on my bucket list. I suppose I could go to a sanctuary and see one, but I prefer that my owl  just show up along with all the other birds I have had the joy of witnessing. Wise As Many Owls In the meantime, working on a collage with owl images will have to satisfy me. In keeping with the theme of bird adages to inspire my imagery,  the obvious “Wise As An Owl” was an easy find.  Apparently the owl is not necessarily a more intelligent bird, but has enjoyed the label since it has long been associated with Greek mythology.  A little owl traditionally represents or accompanies Athena, the virgin goddess of wisdom, or Minerva in Roman mythology. The bird is often referred to as the “owl of Athena” or the “owl of Minerva” and has been used as a symbol of knowledge and wisdom throughout the Western world.  Choosing to leave Athena and Minerva out of the picture, I have titled my collage (no surprise) “Wise As Many Owls.”  There are many owls in my home. They also help me to be patient in my quest to see a real owl someday. Owl Bank Owl Mug Fabric Owl

About circuitousjourney

Retired Art Teacher
This entry was posted in Art, Birds, collage, Mixed Media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Owl Sighting On My Bucket List

  1. Jet Eliot says:

    I have spotted owls on my wooded property by waiting outside in the dark, quietly following the sound, then using a spotlight to search in the tree, It’s better not to shine the light in their eyes, so swiftly scan the tree. Good luck! 🙂

  2. kgjerdset says:

    I love owls, too. I found a bunch of vintage owl things at Goodwill last week. I was so excited. I have yet to see a snowy as well, even though I have gone to the spots where others have seen them. Maybe try eBird, where people list bird sightings. I think that is the name of it anyway. Your owl image is wonderful. Thanks for visiting my site, too. I have not been on the computer as much this summer…with good reason I suppose. 🙂 Nice to have sunshine to go out to!

Leave a Reply

