Walk or Work?

The weather yesterday showed promise, but in the end the showers won.  It could have been worse; snow has still been pretty regular here for quite a while.  Snow showers that don’t amount to much beyond a cold, wet and depressing gray.  A little sunlight would do wonders for us all in this area.  Some light did leak out from behind the clouds, but not enough to get me outside for that daily walk that hasn’t been too daily.

So that the day wouldn’t be a total waste, I decided it was time to get to work on a collage that I started over a week ago.  Abandoning the initial layout, I opted for a “grow as you go” composition, which turned out to be a pleasant alternative to planning each detail in advance.  Disappointed with myself for not braving the weather for a walk, I felt better once my collage started to develop into something new.

Walking around our property in search of signs of spring a number of days ago, I found some beautiful lichen growing out of an old tree stump which had been cut level with the ground.  The intricate patterns were almost floral in nature and I had no idea what I was going to do with the images.  Only knowing that the colors and shapes were appealing to me,  I took some photos to use as inspiration for some future artistic expression.  More interesting forms were also growing out of some tree stumps that probably should have been placed in the garage to dry out. The constant moisture this winter provided the necessary conditions for some new life forms.Eastern Bluebirds  Bluebirds cut from magazines worked their way into the design and before long the collage transformed into a landscape.  No surprise there.  I have only seen one Eastern Bluebird since we moved here.  This happened a few years ago in the park.  Our yard has not attracted any yet, but  maybe I can lure them with some special food treats.

Photos turned into ink jet prints have again become the basis for my collage.  Since I liked the piece once it was glued into place, I chose to use only matte medium to bleed some of the colors and to secure some fruit netting.  After adding a little colored pencil  I decided to quit while I was ahead.  Not as many calories were burned nor did I gain any cardio benefits from my art activity.  Instead, a feeling of creative accomplishment comes from working on something I consider more play than work.  It’s a good thing that I don’t need to derive a living from my art.  For me it’s more fun to just make something and know that I am the only one who really needs to like it.

About circuitousjourney

Retired Art Teacher
This entry was posted in Birds, collage, Photography, Time for Art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Walk or Work?

  1. Carole Abbott says:

    I love it.So beautiful and colors so vibrant!

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Phil Lanoue says:

    That turned out great!

Leave a Reply

