Star Struck

One of the many benefits of living a fair distance from city limits is the view of the night sky.  With few roadside lights,  a sparser residential population and good weather it is dark enough to see a multitude of stars in the sky.  Even with virtually no scientific knowledge of this spectacular view it is easy to become awed by the light show.  Since my dog refuses to take care of business in our fenced yard without me standing outside with her I am required to go out into the night at least two times after the sun has set.  The vastness of the space above and the distance within view is incomprehensible to me.  I try not to think of myself as an insignificant speck of dust in this enormous galaxy.

Although temperatures  have remained above average for January winter is upon us.  I’m sure there will be plenty of snow filled skies in the future.  For now I will continue to enjoy my visits with the night sky and will remain  in awe of its light display.

It has been a while since I attempted any artistic adventures.  The holidays kept me busy and I have spent a few weeks being lazy and unproductive.  Today I broke out the collage supplies and began my usual cutting, collecting  and gluing process.  Having no particular expectations for the the end product, I just grabbed images that were of interest to me.  Once I layered some gesso textures with acrylic glazes and added the colored and ebony pencil texture for definition  my version of a starry night resulted.  Thanks to Martha Stewart Living Magazine for the the stars found in the December issue and many clear nights of inspiration.

About circuitousjourney

Retired Art Teacher
This entry was posted in collage, Stars, Time for Art. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Star Struck

Leave a Reply

