Change in Hand

A number of extra hand prints turned into another collage.  This one has a lot more colored pencil and ebony pencil in addition to some green tinted gesso for texture.  Initially I attempted to use multiple prints of the same hand.  Feeling as if there was too much of a good thing, I ended up adding some different poses.  Still not thrilled with the composition  I kept working on it hoping to create some more interesting areas that might distract from the repetition of the wimpy ‘jazz hands.’  I wonder if elementary school teachers still have young children trace their hands to create turkeys for Thanksgiving.  As a former art teacher I would be disappointed if this was still done.  Maybe I should turn my hands into turkeys.  Maybe they already are turkeys.

The photo program on my computer allows for editing of color saturations. Removing all saturation yields a nice black and white image.  If there isn’t enough contrast you can increase that, as well.  Isn’t technology wonderful?  I actually like it better without the colors.

About circuitousjourney

Retired Art Teacher
This entry was posted in collage, Time for Art. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Change in Hand

  1. Nikkie says:

    My high school students always ask me if they can make turkeys when we start drawing hands. Drives me nuts!

    These are lovely! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

