Salmonidae: Salmo Salar or Atlantic Salmon

Now that the fish truck is back on our horizon, we will be able to get fresh wild salmon.  Salmon is one of my favorite fish to eat.  I prefer the fillets to the steaks, but it’s all good.  I’m not sure what prompted me to work on a salmon collage.  It is safe to say I like the colors associated with both the fish and the ocean.  Salmon also has some Irish and Welsh mythology attached to it.  One of the myths has to do with gaining wisdom if you eat salmon.  I do know it’s healthy,  rich in omega 3 fatty acids and it has also been referred to as brain food.  Plus, I just like the way it tastes.

The collage combined gluing of my organic rice substrate print,  copyright free salmon illustrations, drawing with colored and ebony pencils, tinted gesso textures and the bleeding ink from the black and white ink jet prints.  The composition is similar to that of my cow collage.  I hope that it conveys the movement of fish as they swim through the water…and onto my plate.

About circuitousjourney

Retired Art Teacher
This entry was posted in collage, Food, Time for Art. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

