Chili Pepper and Eucalyptus Landscape

Again, we have snow on the ground.   It really wasn’t a problem since we didn’t need to go anywhere.  I didn’t have to shovel a dog path; Bella is tall enough to deal with the six inches of snow that covered the ground.

I actually waited until after dinner to start working on a collage.  As usual, I gathered the papers with colors that I liked and began tearing and gluing with no particular direction.  My need for green, hopefully not far away in the spring future, prompted me to use a detail from a photograph I took of our Christmas door wreath.  Purchased at the Farmer’s Market in December, it now hangs indoors in our sun room.  The wreath is made of eucalyptus and chili peppers.  Apparently I am fond of using red and green in both my art and my home.

A slipcover for the sun room futon is a palm tree print on a red background.  It has that retro Florida look and I love the fabric design.  Anyway, working on art at night isn’t the safest thing to do in a room with no natural light.  Impatience got the best of me and I added some layers that didn’t work.  Luckily I waited until this morning to finish the piece and I think I saved it. 

Sticking something in the middle of the composition usually doesn’t work for me.  The collage has a monolith tree rising up out of the center of the landscape.  Normally this would bother me, but the detail and colors peeking through the layers of tissue paper seem to balance the placement.

The landscape that evolved reminds me of the streams that flow through the gorges here where we live.  Soon we will be able to enjoy the real thing in living colors of green and blue.  Bring it on; gray and white just aren’t cutting it anymore.

About circuitousjourney

Retired Art Teacher
This entry was posted in collage, Time for Art. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chili Pepper and Eucalyptus Landscape

  1. Loretta says:

    I love how the lily-pad pieces slice the picture and cause a “sub-aquatic” perspective. I am also so wanting Spring!!! I will also post something about our art day and pix from my book!

Leave a Reply

