Handscape

The scanner my daughter gave me has been a great tool in working with collage.  I couldn’t resist scanning my hands and was pleased with the amount of detail the images had.  Using matte medium on black and white paper prints creates the most beautiful colors.  Sometimes they are blue,  green and also violet.  Now I will have to back track and recall what program I used to print the images and what color eventually resulted.  This collage is the second of two.  The first did not survive, but like any good learning process, it provided some insights for the second.  I love seeing script across an image but my handwriting is never up to it.  Back in the day, when we learned to move from printed words to cursive script, I remember hating the practice pages on yellow lined paper.  Even then, my handwriting displeased me.  So, in addition to my unworthy handwriting, the actual words seemed superficial and unnecessary.  The second collage: sans text.

While I was working to add some colored pencil (and ebony pencil as always) I remembered an assignment I used while teaching my art classes.  It usually found its way into my drawing and painting curriculum. Basically it started out as a collage piece. Students were directed to clip body parts from magazines and arrange them as elements in a landscape.  The final drawing was loosely based on the collage and was done in colored pencils- Berol Prismacolor, of course!  I wonder if any of my former students still have their drawings.  It would be great to see more examples from their creative minds and hands.  Preferring to teach by example, I often did the assignment along with my classes, or showed them a previous example that I had completed.  This is my only surviving body part landscape:

Since public high schools don’t allow life drawing with nude models,  our models were always clothed.  If serious students really wanted to experience drawing the human body they had the opportunity for life classes in Philadelphia.  It was also common to see a number of unadorned manikins set up in a still life in my classroom.  They were originally loaned to me, but the owner (also a graduate of the school) decided the gift was permanent.  I wonder if the girls are still hanging out in D201?  A large Shirley Temple doll which was once a toy of mine also found her way into the pile of stuff for still life.  Her legs no longer attached were usually met with some questioning stares.  I certainly would have kept her as the value of such an item in good condition is high.  My Shirley met with overheating in the attic and just wasn’t ready for the collector’s market.  Like many of my possessions she went to work with me.  Ah, fond memories of the teaching days.

About circuitousjourney

Retired Art Teacher
This entry was posted in collage, Time for Art. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

