Transformations

Numerous adaptations later I have added a nineteenth-century Shaker Hymn about embracing simplicity.  I think I may have heard these words sung in a chorus that my daughter belonged to, or maybe it was just similar.  In any event,  the following passage, again from Sarah Ban Breathnach’s book “Simple Abundance: A Daybook of Comfort and Joy,” notes: “Once we take stock of our lives and let gratitude begin its transformative work, the next step on the path unfolds naturally.  When we appreciate how much we have, we feel the urge to pare down, get back to basics, and learn what is essential for our happiness.”  Although the transformation of this piece seems to be moving in the opposite direction of simple, I believe the essential part of this path is the fact that I am starting to enjoy the art process again.  The first two images were rotated one hundred eighty degrees to create the second two images.  I didn’t actually make a conscious decision about doing that; it just happened.  Motor memory took over and it seemed like the right thing to do at the time.  The last image is a smaller print of a variation of the third that was glued to a larger print of a gesso substrate.  I did purchase a three drawer plastic cabinet on casters at the Salvation Army earlier this week.  It now houses my paper scraps and some tools.  Of course I didn’t notice there was a crack in one of the front corners of the top drawer, but I taped it and hopefully it will continue to function well.  Since Frederick spends a LOT of time sitting on my drawing table, it is wise for me to put everything away after using it.  I do notice cat hairs finding their way into my art.  Not a surprise.

About circuitousjourney

Retired Art Teacher
This entry was posted in collage, Shaker Hymn, Time for Art. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

