More Snow

Getting up before the dogs has its benefits on a daybreak with new snowfall.  Since Ferris (the difficult dog) has very short legs, I need to shovel a path for him to navigate.  Bella doesn’t really mind frolicking through the deeper snow,  but it is easier to have a clear walking area.  As previously mentioned, I have lost my footing on much less slippery surfaces.  Anyway, I managed to complete the chore before I needed to take the dogs out.  It was a particularly pretty snowfall.  The bright, full moon shone upon the white blanket and really created a lovely, peaceful scene.  It was early.  Later, I did manage to get my camera a get a shot of the pale pink sky above the winter white.

We received many beautiful Christmas cards from family and friends.  I saved a few with images I thought might fit in with my renewed interest in collage.  With the exception of Lorelei’s beautiful card, also of a winter scene and one that I will frame,  the cards went into a resource pile in my Salvation Army traveling storage bin.  A few days ago I came up with the sketch to the right.  Using a  sparkling black and white photographed image on a card from my cousin Gene and his wife, Janet,  I  hoped to capture the warm feeling even the coldest snowfall can create.  A little overworked for my liking,  I decided to pass judgment the following day.  It looked better when I viewed it more as a spectator rather than its creator.  We did the food shopping yesterday, have no appointments or need to go anywhere and will probably just enjoy the views of our winter wonderland.  A nice friend stopped by and plowed our driveway, refusing to take any compensation for the job.  Life is good.

About circuitousjourney

Retired Art Teacher
This entry was posted in Birds, collage, Time for Art. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

